Pro Cycling Team

Podestplatz für Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig auf der dritten Etappe des Giro Rosa

Podium place for Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig on the third stage of the Giro Rosa, as she moves into second in the GC

Podestplatz für Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig auf der dritten Etappe des Giro Rosa

Der dritte Tag führte über 104km von Sagliano Micca nach Piedicavallo. Nach dem Start ging es leicht bergab bevor ein relativ flacher Parcours bis zur einzigen Sprintwertung nach 75 gefahrenen Kilometern in Gaglianico führte. Danach ging es allmählich immer mehr bergan durch die Städtchen Tollegno und Campiglia Cervo bevor die Strecke mit einer steilen Rampe im Bergort Piedicavallo im Piemont endete.    

Team Leader Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig ging als Gesamtvierte an den Start der heutigen Etappe mit ihren Teamkolleginnen Leah Thomas and Elise Chabbey auch in den Top-10 in der Gesamtwertung. Die Fahrerinnen waren wiederum hohen Temperaturen ausgesetzt, was die Etappe zusätzlich erschwerte. Gleich zu Rennbeginn versuchten einige Ausreißerinnen sich vom Feld abzusetzen, aber ihre Versuche blieben erfolglos. Im letzten Renndrittel riß dann eine Solistin eine kleine Lücke zu dem verkleinerten Peloton aber mit weniger als 13 km bis zum Ziel wurde sie von dem heranjagenden Feld wieder eingeholt. Erneut setzte sich dann eine Fahrerin ab, aber die letzten kopftsteingepflasterten Kilometer erschwerten die Jagd nach der Ausreißerin. Doch auf dem letzten Kilometer wurde auch sie wieder zurückgebracht und den Kampf um den Sieg entschied letztlich Marianne Vos knapp für sich. Bigla gab auf dieser anspruchsvollen Etappe alles und wurde mit einem dritten Platz durch Cecilie belohnt, die jetzt ihre Position in der Gesamtwertung auf Platz zwei verbesserte. 

Nach der Etappe sagte sie:“Wir wollten beim letzten Anstieg zum Ziel keine Sekunde verlieren. Meine Teamkolleginnen brachten mich in eine optimale Position und haben einen fantastischen Job gemacht. Heute Morgen haben wir uns die letzten Kilometer mit dem Kopfsteinpflaster angesehen und wir wussten, dass die Passage sehr eng sein würde und wir deshalb als erstes Team hineinkommen mussten. Wir hatten einen genauen Plan und wir konnten ihn auch ausführen und ich bin deshalb auch sehr glücklich mit unserem Ergebnis.”

Pro Cycling Team

Podium place for Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig on the third stage of the Giro Rosa, as she moves into second in the GC

Podium place for Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig on the third stage of the Giro Rosa, as she moves into second in the GC

Podium place for Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig on the third stage of the Giro Rosa, as she moves into second in the GC

The third stage of the Giro Rosa took the riders over 104km from Sagliano Micca to Piedicavallo. After a downhill start, the terrain was relatively flat until the only intermediate sprint in Gaglianico, which the peloton reached after 75km in the saddle. The route then continued uphill through the villages of Tollegno and Campiglia Cervo before the stage finished on a steep ramp in the mountain village of Piedicavallo.    

Team leader Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig went into today's race in fourth place in the GC, while teammates Leah Thomas and Elise Chabbey were also in the top 10 of the overall standings. Temperatures soared yet again in northern Italy when the riders left the start, which made conditions out on the road difficult. The peloton repeatedly thwarted several early attacks, but in the final third of the stage, a solo rider managed to escape and put some distance between her and a reduced field. However, with 13km remaining, a chasing group reeled the lone rider back in. Another rider was able to get away, and the last few cobbled kilometres made it more difficult for the chasing riders. In the end, she was caught by Kennedy, who managed to carve out a small advantage over the chasing field, but after almost three hours in the saddle Marianne Vos overtook her on the finishing line to win the third stage. All six Bigla riders were present at the front during key moments of the race, and gave their all on a challenging stage. The team was ultimately rewarded with the third place of Cecilie, who also improved her position in the general classification to now sit in second place. 

After the stage, Cecilie commented: "We didn't want to give up on the final climb into the finishing town. My teammates brought me into an optimal position and they did a fantastic job. This morning we had a look at the final cobbled kilometres and we were aware that the passage was super narrow and we had to be first to come into it. We had a plan and we executed it so well, and I could not be happier with the result and the performance of the team."