Pro Cycling Team
Clara KOPPENBURG

Clara KOPPENBURG

Height:
170cm

Weight:
53 kg

Age:
22

Place of birth:
Lörrach, Deutschland

Date of Birth:
03.08.1995

A description of the kind of rider you are:
I'm a versatile rider who loves to work really hard for the team and performs to all the tactics. My dad says that I'm a big fighter who never gives up.

What are your strengths on the bike?
I am somewhat of an all rounder on the bike, but my strength definitely lies in my climbing and TT abilities. I prefer stage races, but this season I would like to try the classics as well.

What’s the most significant (good or bad) thing that has happened to you during your career?
Oh that’s not easy… Good events were definitely the Giro Rosa and the European Championships and the whole last year in the team. I had some downs too, for example, some crashes or the Holland Ladies Tour, which was really hard for me with all the sprints, crosswind and bad weather. But when I think back to my year the positives clearly outweigh the negatives.

Who inspired you to start cycling?
My first influence towards sports was my dad. We were riding always together some beautiful coffee rides and from time to time we started to battle a bit and made longer rides. At the end he organized some trainings with other girls for me and I  started my first races.

What interests do you have away from cycling?
I love to do sports in general like cross-country skiing, skiing, basketball, athletics, etc. That’s why I’m studying sports sciences, which I really enjoy. I also enjoy being creative in the kitchen, spending quality time with family and friends, and reading in my spare time.