Pro Cycling Team

Ann-Sophie Duyck joins Cervélo Bigla in 2018

Ann-Sophie Duyck joins Cervélo Bigla in 2018

Ann-Sophie Duyck joins Cervélo Bigla in 2018

Ann-Sophie Duyck is the latest signing to the Cervélo Bigla Pro Cycling Team for 2018. The Belgian national time trial champion is the second national title holder to the join following the signing of British gold medalist Claire Rose.

Duyck is prolific in the time trial and has won the Belgian national title for the last four years. She boats four victories in 2017 along with the silver medal in the European Continental Championships.

“Cervélo Bigla is a world-class team with a huge respect for time trailing,” Duyck said. “I believe the team makes it possible for a cyclist to reach their highest level. It's a very balanced and well-structured team with a highly professional atmosphere. Another big role in my decision to join is that I will be teammates with Ashleigh [Moolman-Pasio] again and I will be back on a Cervélo.”

She continued: “The team has very high-quality partners which are very important for time trailing. Team manager, Thomas Campana is an expert in both road racing and time trailing, I truly believe this is the next big step in my cycling career. I'm looking forward to meeting the whole team. I want to help the team win races. I want to help in the sprint lead-out, being in a breakaway, help to protect the leader’s jersey, be part of the TTT squad...The main key is that we win as a team.”

“We’ve been talking to Ann-Sophie for a while as she is another part of the equation,” Campana said. “She will be playing a key role by adding value to our ambitious group while we support her to reach her potential. The time trial is a passion of ours and our partners. Ann-Sophie is a great rider in this discipline but she is not to be underestimated in road races. We believe she has a lot of to offer and we can’t wait to get the work underway.”

The signings of Rose, Duyck and Emma Norsgaard have already been made public while Daria Pikulik joined the team on 1 August 2017.