Uttrup Ludwig wins third national time trial title

Uttrup Ludwig wins third national time trial title

Uttrup Ludwig wins third national time trial title

Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig became the third successive Cervélo Bigla Pro Cycling Team rider to win a national time trial title this week. The Dane follows yesterday’s victor, Nicole Hanselmann (Switzerland) and Ann-Sophie Duyck (Belgium).

Uttrup Ludwig won the Danish time trial title for the third year in a row. The 24.2-kilometre course took her 31 minutes 49 seconds to navigate.

"This is a dream. The competition today was the strongest ever at a Danish championship. To beat the riders on the podium on a flat course is so crazy. They are incredible talents, world champions. I am so emotional. This is unbelievable," Uttrup Ludwig said. 

Uttrup Ludwig explained how her race unfolded on a course that didn't feature any climbing. "The strategy was very clear. In the beginning, we had crosswinds, then a tailwind and the last 7-9km was a full headwind and we knew that's where we could make the difference. We were a little conservative in the beginning and that's what made the difference. I'm so grateful to have the whole team here to support us. The whole team drove from Switzerland and this is amazing to repay them for it. I had Thomas [Campana] in the car directing me and he is the best in the world at this. I'm so grateful."

A noteworthy mention goes to Marie Vilmann who returned to competition from an injured elbow. Vilmann put in an impressive ride to finish seventh after being out of competition for 11 weeks. 

Uttrup Ludwig, Vilmann and Emma Norsgaard Jørgensen will now turn their attention to the road race on Saturday, 30 June.  

Photos: Oliver Grenaa